Music Reader for the iPad

Music Reader on the iPad

Music Reader on the iPad

I’ve blogged about an ideal music reading software.  Music Reader is a program that exists for Mac, PC, and Tablet PC’s, and it looks like they’re preparing an iPad version. They are asking for musicians to complete a short survey about features they find important in the software, and you can sign up to be notified on its release.  While it’s not my ideal, it looks like a good program, with PDF importing and built in recording/playback in-app.  Sign up to be notified on its release here.

4 Responses to Music Reader for the iPad

  1. anne stevens says:

    I use Music Reader on an HP tablet 12″ screen – it is just big enough – I think the iPad will be great if it was bigger – hope this will happen soon!

    • Dave Martin says:

      Anna, I had the chance to hold an iPad at an Apple Store this weekend, and I agree that the size of the iPad is a little bit less than ideal for reading PDF scans of 8.5″x11″ paper. However, the size of the iPad’s screen is just about the right size for reading choral octavos. I think that with the right software displaying a variable-size font, the iPad could be great for reading any music, especially in landscape mode. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Marco Leoné says:

    The iPad version of MusicReader launched yesterday.

Leave a comment